Press Release

Update: Kayenta and To'Hajiilee are rescheduling their Justice Day events.


DATE: Wednesday, March 20, 2024

The public is invited to celebrate the 65th anniversary of the Navajo Nation courts as judicial districts across the Navajo Nation hold Justice Day events.

Justice Day commemorates the creation of the Navajo Nation’s own court system on April 1, 1959. The planned activities give the public the opportunity to learn about the Navajo Nation courts and peacemaking.
Justice Day events are scheduled as follows:
    • April 1, 2024 – Supreme Court, Window Rock District Court, Peacemaking Program, Administrative Office of the Courts, Judicial Conduct Commission, Window Rock, Arizona
    • April 2, 2024 – Alamo Court
    • April 3, 2024 – Dził Yijiin Judicial District, Pinon, Arizona
    • April 5, 2024 – Chinle Judicial District; Kayenta Judicial District; Ramah Judicial District; Tuba City Judicial District
    • April 8, 2024 – To’Hajiilee Court
    • April 12, 2024 – Aneth Judicial District
The Justice Day in the Navajo Nation capital kicks off the activities this year. There will be a resource fair at the Supreme Court/Administrative Office of the Courts parking lot east of the Navajo Nation Veterans Memorial Park.

Before having its own court system, the Navajo Tribe had courts that were under federal government control. In the 1950s, a proposal was introduced in the state of Arizona to take over the Navajo courts using the then newly-enacted federal Public Law 280. The Navajo Tribal Council at that time approved a resolution that abolished the Navajo Courts of Indian Offenses, which were courts of the Department of Interior, and declared the existing courts as courts of the Navajo Tribe. The resolution became effective April 1, 1959.

The Navajo people also had their own form of dispute resolution before a court system was in place where they talked things out with leaders who were selected by community consensus. This process of hózh̨óji naat’aah, is recognized today through the Judicial Branch’s Peacemaking Program.

Today there are 11 judicial districts with district and family courts and offices for the Peacemaking Program and Probation & Parole Services. The judicial districts include Window Rock, Tuba City, Kayenta, Aneth, Shiprock, Crownpoint and Pueblo Pintado, Dilkon, Chinle, Dził Yijiin, Ramah, and To’Hajiilee/Alamo. The Supreme Court hears appeals and sits in Window Rock, Ariz.